SJSV Chamber Honors Distinguished Business Leaders

The San Jose Silicon Valley Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the 2016 Distinguished Business Awards and Business Hall of Fame inductees, who will be recognized at its Annual Membership Dinner on Thursday, Feb. 25, at the DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose.

Now in its fifth year, the Distinguished Business Awards aim at honoring those business leaders from within the SJSV Chamber’s 1,400-member organization. There are eight award categories that honored annually and their peers nominate all but the Business Hall of Fame inductees.

The highest honor of the night, the Distinguished Business Leader Award, is given to an individual who has demonstrated long-term excellence in both business and civic engagement. Nominees should have demonstrated leadership and continuous service to the greater Silicon Valley region through the promotion of business, civic engagement, community promotion, philanthropic support and quality of life enhancements.

This year’s Distinguished Business Leaders are Mike and Mary Ellen Fox from M.E. Fox & Company, Inc. Nominators highlighted the Fox’s steadfast commitment to their community throughout their many years in business.

“It is a genuine pleasure to be able to honor our business leaders in front of their peers every year. These are businesses and individuals that work day in and out to ensure that their businesses are successful, create jobs for our residents and help create a great community where we all live, work and play.” –Matthew Mahood, SJSV Chamber President & CEO

2016 Award recipients:

  • Distinguished Business Leaders: Mike and Mary Ellen Fox, M.E. Fox & Company, Inc.
  • Business Woman of the Year: Claudia Folzman, Iron Construction
  • Business Man of the Year: Mark Tersini, KT Urban
  • Small Business of the Year: 360 Payment Solutions
  • Business Advocate of the Year: Ru Weerakoon
  • Nonprofit of the Year: Downtown Streets Team
  • Volunteer of the Year: Casey Quisol

 Business Hall of Fame inductees: